Cleveland, Ohio — NARAL Pro-Choice Ohio, the state’s leading advocate for reproductive freedom, today announced their latest endorsements and recommendations for the November 3, 2020 general election. Today’s release includes a recommendation for the Supreme Court of Ohio, the Hamilton County Court of Common Pleas, and additional endorsements for the Ohio Legislature.

All endorsements and recommendations are listed on our website at

For the Supreme Court of Ohio: Jennifer Brunner

NARAL Pro-Choice Ohio Executive Director Kellie Copeland said, “We strongly recommend Ohio voters elect Jennifer Brunner to the state Supreme Court. We proudly endorsed Judge Brunner when she ran and served in the state legislature and as secretary of state. We support Brunner because throughout her years in public service she has shown a deep and abiding commitment to protecting our fundamental rights and freedoms, whether they be reproductive rights, voting rights, or other vitally important civil liberties. She’ll be an excellent addition to the state’s high court.”

For Judge in the Hamilton Court of Common Pleas: Jennifer Branch

Kellie Copeland said, “Few people in Ohio have done as much to actively defend your reproductive rights as Jennifer Branch has. As a partner at the Gerhardstein and Branch Co. law firm, she has been the lead legal counsel against unjust legislative and administrative efforts to close abortion clinics. Her work has been vitally important in the effort to preserve abortion access in our state. Jennifer Branch is an excellent choice for judge in the Hamilton County Court of Common Pleas.”

With respect the endorsements in state legislative races, Copeland added, “Last session, the Ohio House and Senate passed legislation that would have outlawed abortion as early as six weeks into pregnancy, and Governor DeWine quickly added his signature to the legislation. This Spring, Ohio Attorney General Dave Yost attempt to exploit the COVID crisis to close all of the abortion clinics our the state. Abortion is time-sensitive and essential health care and Ohioans deserve to have elected officials who respect it as such. Ohioans can count on our endorsed legislative candidates to stand up to protect our reproductive freedom.”

Our full list of endorsements for the Ohio House and Senate appear below. New names announced today appear in bold italics.

For the Ohio Senate

District 2 Joel O’Dorsio
District 4 Kathy Wyenandt
District 6 Mark Fogel
District 8 Dan Brown
District 10 Charlie Ballard
District 12 Ken Poling
District 16 Crystal Lett
District 18 Betsy Rader
District 24 Tom Jackson
District 28 Sen. Vernon Sykes
District 30 Michael Fletcher

For the Ohio House

District 1 Alison Theiss
District 3 Laurel Johnson
District 6 Rep. Phillip Robinson
District 7 Joan Sweeny
District 8 Rep. Kent Smith
District 9 Rep. Janine Boyd
District 11 Rep. Stephanie Howse
District 12 Rep. Juanita Brent
District 13 Rep. Michael Skindell
District 14 Rep. Bride Rose Sweeney
District 16 Monique Smith
District 17 Rep. Adam Miller
District 18 Rep. Kristin Boggs
District 19 Rep. Mary Lightbody
District 22 Rep. David Leland
District 24 Rep. Allison Russo
District 25 Dontavius Jarrells
District 26 Rep. Erica Crawley
District 28 Rep. Jessica Miranda
District 31 Rep. Brigid Kelly
District 32 Rep. Catherine Ingram
District 34 Rep. Emilia Sykes
District 35 Rep. Tavia Galonski
District 36 Matt Shaughnessy
District 37 Rep. Casey Weinstein
District 38 Joe Campbell
District 39 Willis Blackshear, Jr.
District 41 Cate Berger
District 43 Amy Cox
District 44 Rep. Paula Hicks-Hudson
District 45 Rep. Lisa Sobecki
District 46 Rep. Michael Sheehy
District 47 Nancy Larson
District 54 Morgan Showen
District 55 Zach Stepp
District 57 Dara Adkison
District 58 Rep. Michele Lepore-Hagan
District 59 Chris Stanley
District 61 Adam Dudziak
District 62 Erin Rosiello
District 65 Alan Darnowsky
District 67 Rachael Morocco
District 69 Donna Beheydt
District 70 Kevin Barnet
District 71 Mark Carr
District 73 Kim McCarthy
District 75 Rep. Randi Clites
District 76 Garrett Westhoven
District 79 Cynthia Richards
District 84 Joe Monbeck
District 86 Tiffanie Roberts
District 91 Scott Dailey
District 94 Katie O’Neill
District 97 Alaina Swope
District 99 Richard Dana

Today’s judicial recommendations are announced following a thorough review from our board and senior staff. For the state legislature, NARAL Pro-Choice Ohio endorses 100% pro-choice candidates who have satisfactorily completed our rigorous questionnaire. NARAL Pro-Choice Ohio is committed to protecting the full range of reproductive health options, including preventing unintended pregnancy, bearing healthy children, and choosing safe, legal abortion.

Endorsements in federal races are made by our national partner, NARAL Pro-Choice America. Those endorsements are also listed on our website:

For president: Joe Biden
For vice president: Sen. Kamala Harris

For the US House of Representatives:

Ohio’s 1st Congressional District Kate Schroder
Ohio’s 3rd Congressional District Rep. Joyce Beatty
Ohio’s 10th Congressional District Desiree Tims
Ohio’s 11th Congressional District Rep. Marcia Fudge
Ohio’s 13rd Congressional District Rep. Tim Ryan


Paid for by NARAL Pro-Choice Ohio, Kellie Copeland, Executive Director
11811 Shaker Blvd., Suite 210, Cleveland, Ohio 44120
Not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s committee.

Back to News